Login
TheBookSearch - Find books easily - United Kingdom - Shipping costs to: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern IrelandThe Book Search - Shipping costs to: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Book search - United KingdomAll available rare and new books.

Last Explorer: Hubert Wilkins, Hero of the Golden Age of Polar Exploration
compare all offers

9781616087173 - Simon Nasht: Last Explorer: Hubert Wilkins, Hero of the Golden Age of Polar Exploration
1
Simon Nasht (?):

Last Explorer: Hubert Wilkins, Hero of the Golden Age of Polar Exploration (?)

ISBN: 9781616087173 (?) or 161608717X, in english, Skyhorse Publishing Inc. New

£ 14.82 (C$ 22.89)¹(without obligation)
In Stock, plus shipping
From Seller/Antiquarian
Simon Nasht, Books, Biography and Memoir, Historical, Last Explorer: Hubert Wilkins, Hero of the Golden Age of Polar Exploration, In the tradition of The Ice Master and Endurance, here is the incredible story of the first truly modern explorer, whose death-defying adventures and uncommon modesty make this book itself an extraordinary discovery. Hubert Wilkins was the most successful explorer in history—no one saw with his own eyes more undiscovered land and sea. Largely self-taught, Wilkins became a celebrated newsreel cameraman in the early 1900s, as well as a reporter, pilot, spy, war hero, scientist, and adventurer, capturing in his lens war and famine, cheating death repeatedly, meeting world leaders like Lenin and Stalin, and circling the globe on a zeppelin. Apprenticing with the greats of polar exploration, including Shackleton in the Antarctic, Wilkins recognized the importance of new technologies such as the airplane and submarine. He helped map the Canadian Arctic and plumbed the ocean depths from the icecap. A pioneer in the truest sense of the word, he became the first man to fly across the North Pole, which won him a knighthood; the first to fly to the Antarctic and discover land there by airplane; and the first to take a submarine under the Arctic ice. Grasping the link between the poles and changing global weather, Wilkins was a visionary in weather forecasting and the study of global warming. A true hero of the earth, he changed the way we look at our world.
161608717X - Simon Nasht: Last Explorer: Hubert Wilkins, Hero of the Golden Age of Polar Exploration
2
Simon Nasht (?):

Last Explorer: Hubert Wilkins, Hero of the Golden Age of Polar Exploration (?)

ISBN: 161608717X (?) or 9781616087173, in english, Skyhorse Publishing, Used

£ 11.86 ($ 13.81)¹(free shipping, without obligation)
In Stock
From Seller/Antiquarian
biographical,biographies,biographies and history,biography and history,history,travelers and explorers, In the tradition of The Ice Master and Endurance, here is the incredible story of the first truly modern explorer, whose death-defying adventures and uncommon modesty make this book itself an extraordinary discovery. Hubert Wilkins was the most successful explorer in history-no one saw with his own eyes more undiscovered land and sea. Largely self-taught, Wilkins became a celebrated newsreel cameraman in the early 1900s, as well as a reporter, pilot, spy, war hero, scientist, and adventurer, capturing in his lens war and famine, cheating death repeatedly, meeting world leaders like Lenin and Stalin, and circling the globe on a zeppelin.�Apprenticing with the greats of polar exploration, including Shackleton in the Antarctic, Wilkins recognized the importance of new technologies such as the airplane and submarine. He helped map the Canadian Arctic and plumbed the ocean depths from the icecap. A pioneer in the truest sense of the word, he became the first man to fly across the North Pole, which won him a knighthood; the first to fly to the Antarctic and discover land there by airplane; and the first to take a submarine under the Arctic ice. Grasping the link between the poles and changing global weather, Wilkins was a visionary in weather forecasting and the study of global warming. A true hero of the earth, he changed the way we look at our world.
9781616087173 - Simon Nasht: Last Explorer: Hubert Wilkins, Hero of the Golden Age of Polar Exploration
3
Simon Nasht (?):

Last Explorer: Hubert Wilkins, Hero of the Golden Age of Polar Exploration (?)

ISBN: 9781616087173 (?) or 161608717X, in english, Skyhorse Publishing, Paperback, New

£ 12.83 ($ 14.95)¹(free shipping, without obligation)
In Stock
From Seller/Antiquarian
Last-Explorer~~Simon-Nasht, Last Explorer: Hubert Wilkins, Hero of the Golden Age of Polar Exploration, paperback